Quotes by Writers for Writers (WWT)

As a writer, inspiration can come from anywhere.

So why not from the people who write themselves? Today, I have gathered three quotes by writers for writers and will discuss what ideas for a story form in my mind when reading these quotes.

 

 

Quote #1

I try to create sympathy for my characters, then turn the monsters loose. – Stephen King

For me, I have two separate ideas that spring to mind to me when reading this quote. The first is the idea of setting up the character(s) of the story to make the reader begin to like them. Then playing with the reader’s emotions as the character(s) progresses through the story and faces horrors or obstacles.

The second idea that springs to mind is by making the character(s) seem like they deserve a happy ending of their own as the reader grows attached to them. But instead they are shown to be the one(s) in the wrong.

 

 

Quote #2

If you have other things in your life – family, friends, good productive day work – these can interact with your writing and the sum will be all the richer. – David Brin

This quote is helpful as it encourages you to look at all the different activities in your life and find a way to draw inspiration from them.

For instance, if you have a serious character but are struggling to accurately portray them as such then consider the people around you. Perhaps a friend of yours is like this. In that case draw your inspiration from them.

 

 

Quote #3

Stories of imagination tend to upset those without one. – Terry Pratchett

For me, this quote encourages you to create and write new and interesting ideas without fearing what others may think. This sort of encouragement is needed to help push people into going through with their ideas instead of letting themselves fear negative feedback.

 


 

And that’s it for this week. As always, please feel free to comment your opinions and thoughts down below. And why not follow my blog and Twitter too?

Thank you for reading.

2 thoughts on “Quotes by Writers for Writers (WWT)

  1. You read my mind when creating this blog post. I had a personal twitter account and hardly used it. Now that I’m connecting with other writers, I’m finding inspiration, information, and plain entertainment that I re-tweet or reply to everyday. It turns out the writing community is closer knit than I imagined, and as a new author I’m very grateful for that. Writers supporting writers is a beautiful thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you, the community is just amazing. I was nervous when I started but I have learned so much from these wonderful people. The support in this community is really just fantastic. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

